Fiction

Dear Uncle – for DraftSpace April

A little something I wrote for WritersClubKL. Within these words, I hope to be able to reach out to those out there who have had to carry a heavy secret all their lives and grow in silent suffering.

writersclubkl

In the United States, it is reported that last year, 1 in 5 girls and 1 in 20 boys was a victim of child sexual abuse. In Malaysia, the numbers are hard to locate, but it is inevitably on the rise. There is lack of attention paid to the matter, a disheartening fact that means that many women have to grow up, carrying such a secret. This letter is for them.


Dear uncle,

I do not know if you will ever read this, hear what I am going to say or if it will even move a single ounce of your being. I do not know if this letter will be read by anyone, come to think of it.

But I know I need to say these things. For the sake of one person who it will matter most for – ME.

I am in my 30s now. I am…

View original post 831 more words

Leave a Reply

